Illinois Poised At Edge of Abyss
Despite the Governor’s best
worst intentions, the citizens of Illinois may now join their fellows in the other 49 states–and bear arms:
The last holdout on allowing the public possession of concealed guns, Illinois joined the rest of the nation Tuesday as lawmakers raced to beat a federal court deadline in adopting a carry law over Gov. Pat Quinn’s objections.
Massive majorities in the House and Senate voted to override changes the Democratic governor made just a week ago in an amendatory veto.
All is not rainbows and unicorns, however. One of the most cash-strapped states in the nation couldn’t let an opportunity go for raising a bit of the green.
The law that took effect Tuesday permits anyone with a Firearm Owner’s Identification card who has passed a background check and undergone gun-safety training of 16 hours — longest of any state — to obtain a concealed-carry permit for $150.
The Illinois State Police has six months to set up a system to start accepting applications. Spokeswoman Monique Bond said police expect 300,000 applications in the first year.
But, at least now it (getting a permit) is reachable. Perhaps those of us in states where procuring the same permit costs $10 should consider helping those in Illinois. In fact, if you have family or friends there who would take advantage of the new law, it sounds like nearly perfect timing for this year’s Christmas gifting.